Our Drummers Out Cold

    Our Drummers Out Cold

    Label / Index #
    Wholiday Music WH 008/9

    Compare with;
    Can Anybody Out There Play The Drums? (CD) (Mainstream MAST 94/95)

    The Cow Palace, San Francisco, California, USA, Tuesday, November 20,

    Recording: Audience
    Comments: This is from the opening night of the 1973 U.S. Quadrophenia Tour
    where Keith Moon supposedly washed down an animal tranquilizer with some
    brandy and could not make it through the entire show. The band plays drum-less
    and then recruits Scott Halpin from the audience to sit in for a few songs! The
    sound quality of this recording is pretty rough, actually, this (along with the CD-R
    From Skaiting Rinks to Opera Houses) must be one of the worst sounding Who
    boots ever to hit the market. Some would still consider this a must. Compare with
    the CD listed above.
    Side-note: there is also a bootleg B&W video of a fair portion of this show, though
    of poor quality.

        CD 1

     1. I Can't Explain
     2. Summertime Blues
     3. My Generation
     4. I Am the Sea
     5. The Real Me
     6. The Punk Meets the Godfather
     7. I'm One
     8. Helpless Dancer
     9. 5:15
    10. Sea and Sand
    11. Drowned
    12. Bell Boy
    13. Dr. Jimmy (listed as last track on CD 1 but really 1st track on CD 2)

        CD 2

     1. Love Reign O'er Me
     2. Won't Get Fooled Again (K.Moon passes out during song)
     3. P.Townshend Tells Audience "Our Drummers out cold, You'll have to
       fucking wait"
     4. Magic Bus (K.Moon passes out for final time)
     5. See Me Feel Me (without Drummer)
     6. P.Townshend Tells Audience "Can anybody play the drums? I mean somebody
     7. Smokestack Lightning / Spoonful (w / Scott Halpin - Drummer from Audience)
     8. Naked Eye (w / Scott Halpin - Drummer from Audience)