Amazing Journey

    Amazing Journey    Amazing Journey (Inside cover)    Amazing Journey (Back cover)

    Label / Index #
    Hiwatt NL - 69 A/B

    Compare with;
    Amazing Journey (CD) (Interscope Records)
    Amsterdam Journey (CD) (Adorable 001/2)

    The Best Of The Who
    (CD) (EML 137)
    (CD) (WPOCM 0989 D036-2)
    Live In Amsterdam
    (CD) (The Swingin' Pig TSP CD 021 2)
    Live Tommy
    (CD) (Manic Depression MDCD 003)
    The Live Tommy
    (CD) (Grapefruit GRA-0043-A)
    My Generation
    (CD) (On Stage CD 12012)
    The Who Live
    (CD) (SW 30)

    The First Complete Rock Opera (LP) (WH6929)
    The High Numbers, The First Complete Rock Opera (LP) (Score Records)
    Live In Amsterdam (LP) (TSP 021-2)
    World Premiere (LP) (No label info available)


    (In Dutch)

    Shakin' All Over
    (Guitar Piece)

    Venue: Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Holland, Monday, September 29, 1969
    Recording: Soundboard
    Comments: "Oh, great. yet ANOTHER version of this show. Ho-hummmmm....don't
    we have enough of these yet"?! That was my initial reaction when I heard this one
    was on its way. WOW! Was I ever surprised. HOT OFF THE FACTORY PRESS! I
    was thrilled when I unpacked this CD. The packaging is excellent. This comes in a
    laminate gatefold cover with some nifty inside-cover pics. The CD's come packaged
    in colored, period - picture paper sleeves. The discs are pressed on gold CD's (NOT
    !). The tops are black with gold lettering. The sound quality is STELLAR!
    None of the other Amsterdam CD's have the clarity to offer as does this one. I've
    always found the previous releases were a bit thin or "tinny" sounding. The echo,
    probably more a result of the venue than the actual recording, is, as on all other re-
    cordings of this show, still there, but, Man-O-Man, this one smokes. Right from the
    intro of the band to Keith Moon's lunacy during Pete's explanation of the "mini-opera"
    A Quick One, the true WHO "freak" will quickly hear that this release has something
    special to offer. The producers of this CD even broke down the "movements" con-
    tained in My Generation by title (see below) Though not as on the Canadian legit
    Live At Leeds. From the packaging to the presentation of the music, this is a killer
    CD in my book and I dare rate this right up there with Live At Leeds Complete in
    sound quality and performance! This release has all the hhhhmmppphhh that its pre-
    decessors lack. The only thing I could gripe about is the set order as this CD places
    all of the non-Tommy tracks on CD 1 and allows the Tommy portion to run contin-
    uously on CD 2. Don't confuse this CD with Amazing Journey (CD) (Amsterdam
    AMS 732)
    (oddly enough also on the Amsterdam label). Compare with the items
    listed above.

         CD 1

     1. Introduction
     2. Heaven And Hell
     3. I Can't Explain
     4. Fortune Teller
     5. Tattoo
     6. Young Man Blues
     7. A Quck One Introduction
     8. A Quck One While He's Away
     9. Substitute
    10. Happy Jack
    11. I'm A Boy
    12. Summertime Blues
    13. Shakin' All Over
    14. My Generation
    15. We're Not Gonna Take It
    16. Underture I
    17. Underture II
    18. Underture III
    19. Underture IV

         CD 2

     1. Introduction
     2. Overture
     3. Captain Walker
     4. It's A Boy
     5. 1921
     6. Amazing Journey
     7. Sparks
     8. Sparks II
     9. The Hawker
    10. Christmas
    11. The Acid Queen
    12. Pinball Wizard
    13. Do You Think It's Alright?
    14. Tommy Can You Hear Me?
    15. There's A Doctor
    16. Smash The Mirror
    17. Smash The Mirror / Miracle Cure
    18. Sally Simpson
    19. I'm Free
    20. Tommy's Holiday Camp
    21. Welcome
    22. We're Not Gonna Take It