The High Numbers - Live 1964

    The High Numbers - Live 1964 (Cover)   The High Numbers - Live 1964 (Back)   The High Numbers - Live 1964 (CD)
       Cover        Back          CD

    Label / Index #
    Yellow Dog Records - YD 2002

    Compare with;
    Who Are The High Numbers? (CD) (Hiwatt Records)
    Swedish Meatballs (CD) (Hyacinth 126)
    The Who Remembers The High Numbers (CD) (Head)

    Dance To Keep From Crying (LP) (MARQUEE RECORDS WRKG 1000)
    Live At The Marquee Club (LP) (JESTER PRODUCTIONS JP 104)
    Low Numbers (LP) (Trademark Of Quality)
    Maximum R&B (LP) (JESTER PRODUCTIONS JP 104)

     The Railway Hotel and Lounge, Wealdstone, UK, Tuesday, October 20, 1964
    and Abbey Road Studios
    Recording:  Soundboard and Audience
    Comments: This is a pretty neat CD with very early live Who tracks while they
    were called the High Numbers. Tracks 1-11 are live with decent sound considering
    the era. The tracks don't flow smoothly and some cut in and out abruptly. Some
    sound like there is an audience while others don't. Tracks 12-18 are mono studio
    tracks. These are all instrumental and are really nothing special, although, during a
    part of Track 16, I did find myself singing the "Ivor the engine driver" line from A Quick
    One While He's Away
    . Obviously, way too early for Pete to have written it (if he did
    write this) with AQOWHA in mind, but the beat reminds me of it. Tracks 1-11 are
    supposedly from the Railway Hotel. Track 6 is actually another cut of You Really
    Got Me
    . Tracks 12-18 are allegedly from Abbey Road Studios and are all instrumen-
    tal.. The Who Concert Guide web site does not list these dates. However, you may
    want to double-check the Who Concert File book for studio recording sessions and
    dates. Compare with the items listed above.

     1. I Gotta Dance To Keep From Crying
     2. You Really Got Me
     3. Young Man Blues
     4. Green Onions
     5. I Gotta Dance To Keep From Crying
     6. Instrumental Jam
     7. I Gotta Dance To Keep From Crying
     8. Long Tall Shorty
     9. Pretty Thing
    10. Smokestack Lightning / Money (That's What I Want)
    11. Here 'Tis
    12. Smokestack Lightning
    13. Walking The Dog
    14. Unknown Instrumental
    15. I'm A Man
    16. Instrumental Jam
    17. Memphis, Tennessee
    18. Unknown Instrumental

Thanks to Matt Whipple and Greg Partridge for the information and covers to this CD.